Spring 2013 | Special Topics Section 3 Dr. Agnes Cardoni Mon: 2-4 & Wed: 2-3
Your guide to library resources for
Links to authoritative and general poetry websites.
- Modern American Poetry (MAPS) University of Illinois
The Modern American Poetry Site is a comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry.
Started as a multimedia companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry (Oxford University Press, 2000), MAPS has grown over the past decade to more than 30,000 pages of biographies, critical essays, syllabi and images relating to 161 poets.Criticism can be viewed through the classic list of poets and through the new poet search page, where poets can be searched alphabetically, chronologically by birth date, by race/ethnicity, and by group/school of poetry.
- Poetry Magazine Online
The oldest monthly devoted to verse in the English-speaking world. Podcasts, video, articles, and more.
- Academic Search Elite
A multi-disciplinary database that offers full text for more than 1,850 scholarly journals including 1,300 peer-reviewed titles. It offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.
- Credo Reference
A online reference library that provides access to 516 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, including dictionaries, encyclopedias and quotation books that cover a wide variety of subject areas plus its biographical information.
- Gale Infotrac
Includes the interdisciplinary Expanded Academic ASAP which provides comprehensive information on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communications and the General Sciences(1980 - current, with access to backfile 1980-1996). Also includes Literature Resource Center and Biography Resource Center.
- Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides records related to literature, languages, linguistics and folklore. Includes citations for journals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies dating back to 1963. Most commonly used for finding essays of criticism on literary works. NOT FULL-Text/citation ONLY.
We have a number of Poetry Journals and magazines accessible through Marywood Library. Go to:
Library -->Journal Finder -->Search by Title
Browse by subject: -->Languages & Literatures