This is the "Library Workshops" page of the "Library Research Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Research Guides  

Last Updated: May 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marywood.edu/home Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Workshops Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where and When

The workshops are offered 3-4pm on Tuesdays and 5-6pm Wednesdays in Learning Commons 213, unless posted differently. Please find the topics in the monthly schedule below.
 

April Workshops

Tuesday
3-4pm
Wednesday
5-6pm

April 4
Library Research Tips for International Students
Time 3:30-4:30
pm
Register Here
             

April 5
Credo Reference Database
Register Here

April 12
Academic Research Databases(ERIC, PsycInfo...)
Register Here
April 18
Introduction to Psychology Research Resources
Register Here   
April 19
Introduction to Business Research Resources
Register Here
April 25
Introduction to Science Resources
Register Here
 April 26
Job Hunting with Databases
Register Here
 

Workshop Schedule - March 2017

Tuesday

3-5pm

Wednesday

5-6pm

Mar. 1

Research Databases

Register Here.

Mar. 7

ebrary- Finding ebooks                            

Register Here.

Mar. 8

Open Access Art Image Collections

Register Here.

Mar 14

Spring Break

Mar. 15

Spring Break

Mar. 21 : 2-3pm in LC206

ebrary - Finding ebooks

Register Here.

Mar. 22

Job Hunting with the Databases

Register Here.

Mar. 28

Research Databases

Register Here.

Mar. 29

PubMed(Medline):Getting Started

Register Here.

 

Workshop Schedule - February 2017

Tuesday

3-5pm

Wednesday

5-6pm

Feb. 1

Introduction to PubMed

Feb. 7

Research Databases

Register Here.

Feb. 8

CINAHL for Experts

Register Here.

Feb. 14

Credo Reference

Register Here.

Feb. 15

LexisNexis for Business

Register Here.

Feb. 21

Mergent Online

Register Here.

Feb. 22

Open Access Art Image Collections

Register Here.

Feb. 28

Introduction to Nutrition Resources

Register Here.

 

Workshop List

  1. ebrary - Finding Ebooks
    This workshop demonstrates how to use ebrary – a wide online collection of authoritative, full-text copyrighted electronic books in many academic subject areas online at anytime. Participants will learn how to search, find and use this ebook collection of 175,000 ebooksInstructor: Zhong Geng.
    Time: TAB - Location: LC213  Register Here.
  2. Introduction to New York Times Online
    Learn how to create a New York Times user account, and how to navigate the New York Times Online site.
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213 Register Here.
  3. Open Access Image Resources for Art & Art History
    Finding images online and using them properly can be difficult. This workshop will explore different types of open access image collections which are available for public use, explain different types of licensing, and show you how to correctly attribute any images you may use. Instructor:Leslie Christianson
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213  Register Here.
  4. Academic Research Databases - Learn how to choose a library database, and how to use a library database
    Too much isn't a good thing with research. Google definitely gives plenty of information - sometimes hundreds of millions of hits. You get the good with the bad and have to spend much time sifting through the massive data.The sophisticated library databases have the scholarly and peer-reviewed content that students require. The authority and trustworthiness of the articles from the databases seldom need to be questioned. Library databases can be general (all disciplines) or discipline-specific (e.g. a psychology, education, health or business database). Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213  Register Here.
  5. Google Scholar
    Google Scholar is a powerful tool for researchers. This workshop will demonstrate advanced search techniques for navigating Google Scholar more effectively and efficiently. Instructor:Leslie Christianson
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213  Register Here.
  6. Introduction to Wiley Online Library
    A partially full text database featuring over 1,000 journals, major reference works, online books, current protocols, laboratory manuals, as well as a suite of professional and management resources. Subject coverage includes business, finance and management, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, engineering, law, life science, mathematics and statistics, psychology and more. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213. Register Here.
  7. PubMed for Health Consumers
    This workshop looks at PubMed from the viewpoint of health consumers. Using Pubmed Health, we will look at Health A-Z (health conditions), Drugs A-Z (side effects and uses of medication), and Medline News (everyday news from the field of medicine). This is a good follow-up to the workshop on PubMed search techniques but you don't need to know the search techniques of PubMed to enjoy this workshop. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213. Register Here.
  8. PubMed(Medline):Getting Started
    This workshop will cover the basics of using PubMed to find journal articles. We'll discuss how to select and combine search terms to develop an effective search strategy. We'll demonstrate tools found in PubMed that can make your searching more efficient. We'll also show you how to access the full text of articles you find.  Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213. Register Here.
  9. Company Research with LexisNexis Academic
    Having accurate, up-to-date information on companies is critical for business majors, job seekers, and anyone performing company research. But getting a complete picture of a company’s structure, financial health, brands and competitors can be a challenge. LexisNexis provides a research tool for students and researchers to seek information about U.S. and international companies. This is one of the "Business Information Research Seminar Series" we offer this semester. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here
  10. Introduction to Zotera
    Zotero is a free citation manager that allows you to save citation information while searching and browsing the Web. This workshop will introduce some of the key functions of Zotero such as: installing Zotero, adding citations to your Zotero library, organizing and managing your citations, creating a bibliography, and using the Microsoft Word plug-in to easily insert citations from Zotero into your documents. Instructor:Leslie Christianson
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213 Register Here.
  11. Introduction to LexisNexis
    LexisNexis is a leading provider of news, business and legal information sources. Participants will learn how to search for news, locate legal cases and law review articles using LexisNexis Academic database. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213 Register Here.
  12. Credo Reference Database
    Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content from over 820 reference books, covering all subjects such subjects as art, business, medicine, psychology, social sciences, technology and more. Participants will learn to search in hundreds of encyclopedias, etc. and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213 Register Here.
  13. Introduction to Nutrition Research Resources
    Join us for a workshop to increase your awareness and effective use of nutrition information resources to make your research easier and more efficient. We’ll discuss the steps of accessing peer reviewed nutrition and dietetics resources using Marywood's library databases and Open Access sources. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here .
  14. Introduction to the New Library Catalog
    The Library has a new catalog! This workshop will introduce you to our new catalog Koha. During the session we will demonstrate how to search for items and make requests from the Automated Storage/Retrieval System, log into your account, review current checkouts, renew materials, place holds, and create, manage and share lists. Instructor: Leslie Christianson
    Time: TBA - Location: LC 213  Register Here.
  15. Job Hunting with the Databases
    Want to impress during your job interview?  Learn how to garner company information, the recent news on the company, and the trends in the field. Databases covered include Mergent's, Lexis Nexis and Discovery. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.
  16. An Introduction to Kanopy: Online Streaming Film Database
    Learn about the content available through the streaming film/video resource Kanopy. The Library subscription to Kanopy includes thousands of documentaries, feature and training films on every topic, such as Media Studies, Foreign Language, Education, Psychology, Politics, Environmental, Literature, etc. Instructor: Leslie Christianson
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.
  17. Finding Data and Statistics Workshop
    Participants will learn about tools and strategies to search for data and statistics.
    Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here or reply to this message.
  18. U.S. Government Sources--ideas that you can use today
    Let's explore the services of the government through its web portal, usa.gov.  Here we'll find information on agencies, data and statistics, financial aid, and much more.  Lots to discover in this site that brings information right to your fingertips. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.
  19. Health Information 101
    Health information is about anywhere you look. But not all health information on the web is credible, timely, or safe. This workshop is designed to help you find reliable health information for consumers and patients, as well as to offer tips on filtering health-related web resources. Instructor: Hong Miao & Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.
  20. Learn to Navigate Medical Research
    Navigating the vast National Library of Medicine is important for health care providers.  What is the latest research on a prescribed drug or a medical disease? For your patients, learn how you use PubMed to give them background information to safeguard their health or learn more about their medical condition. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.
  21. Drug Information Resources
    This session will help participants familiarize themselves with the usefulness of various sources and types of drug information, as well as develop skills to find drug information. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here or reply to this message.
  22. PubMed(Medline):Getting Started
    This workshop will cover the basics of using PubMed to find journal articles. We'll discuss how to select and combine search terms to develop an effective search strategy. We'll demonstrate tools found in PubMed that can make your searching more efficient. We'll also show you how to access the full text of articles you find.  Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here or reply to this message.
  23. CINAHL for Experts
    Learn how to locate nursing and allied health literature using CINAHL, the core resource for the fields. This workshop will also cover how to use MeSH (medical subject headings),access full-text articles, manage search results, and create alerts  This database compliments the Health Source database; it is useful for both beginning research and advanced research in health fields. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here .
  24. Company Research with Mergent Online
    This is one of the "Business Information Research Workshop Series" we offer this semester. Mergent online provides U.S. and international company data, including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock.
    Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here
  25. Company Research with LexisNexis Academic
    This is one of the "Business Information Research Workshop Series" we offer this semester. LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis is an excellent source for company, industry and product information. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA  – Room 213. Register Here
  26. Company Research with Mergent Intellect
    This is the first workshop of the "Business Information Research Workshop Series" we offer this semester. Mergent Intellect offers a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, ... and the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Room 213. Register Here
  27. eBook Basics Workshop
    There are approximately 70,000 titles in our ebook collection, including scholarly, reference and professional books from leading publishers, classic works of literature and history, as well as speeches, government documents, and other resources. Join us to learn how to search, view, checkout and download ebooks. Instructor: Leslie Christianson / Zhong Geng
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213.  Register Here
  28. Introduction to Science Resources
    This workshop is intended to make participants aware of the variety of scholarly materials available to them as they pursue research in the science disciplines such as Chemistry, Physics, Biology and Biochemistry. Emphasis will be placed on science databases such as Web of Science, ScienceDirect and Wiley Online Library. Instructor: Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213,  Register Here or reply to this message.
  29. Finding Government Data on the Environment
    This workshop will focus on finding governmental data relevant to research on sustainability, and will examine tools provided by agencies such as the EPA, Department of Energy, and some selected international sources. In addition, the session will suggest strategies for answering a data question, especially when it's unclear where to begin or when other sources have been exhausted. Instructor: Amanda Avery
    Time: TBA  – Learning Commons 213. Register Here
  30. Mergent Online Database for Investment Information
    Interested in investing in or obtaining financial information about US or inter,national companies, please join us for a 40- minute session on Mergent Online, which is one of the most complete historical financial databases offering detailed insight into company and industry research, both historical and current. Instructor: Zhong Geng
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here
  31. Survival and Thrival Tips for International Students
    Critical to academic success is your ability to do library research to produce papers for classes or complete your thesis or dissertation. This workshop is meant to provide some research tips and resources for international students (or other students). The session will be informal, so feel free to come with specific questions or concerns you might have from your own research experiences. We will also be able to try some example searches. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA  - Learning Commons 213. Register Here
  32. Introduction to Psychology Research Resources
    Join us for a workshop to increase your awareness and effective use of psychology related information resources to make your research easier and more efficient. We’ll discuss the steps of accessing peer reviewed psychology resources using the library databases and Open Access sources. Instructor: Hong Miao
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.
  33. Business Resources for Research 
    The workshop emphasizes the resources and services which the library provides for business-related research, including finding quality articles and other narrative content on a business topic from our library resources and Open Access sources.
    Instructor: Hong Miao, Annette Fisher
    Time: TBA - Learning Commons 213. Register Here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip