This is the "Finding Material in the ASRS" page of the "Music, Theatre and Dance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music, Theatre and Dance  

Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://libguides.marywood.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Material in the ASRS Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Reference Works for Theatre

Broadway : An Encyclopedia of Theater and American Culture V.1,2
R792.09B87                                                          

The Cambridge guide to American Theatre
R792.0973C26W                                                          

The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama V.1,2
R809.2C76                                                                                    

The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre
R792C77                                                                

Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis
R792.03P29     

Encyclopaedia of the Musical Theatre
R782.8G83E                                                              

The Encyclopedia of World Theater : with 420 Illustrations and an Index of play titles
R792.03E72N

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of World Drama V. 1,2,3,4,5  
R809.2M24H2                                                      

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance V.1,2   
R792.03O93                                                       

Stage Directors Handbook: Opportunities for Directors and Choreographers
R792.023S92                                                                               

Subject Searching

Here are examples of Subject Headings that you can use to find material on Music, Theatre, and Dance in the Library catalog.

Dance
Ballet
Modern Dance--Pictorial Works
Ballet--History
Choreography
Dancers
Dance Criticism
Modern Dance--Philosophy
Folk Dancing
Dance Companies

Theatre
Acting

Actors
Costume
Drama
Drama History and criticism
Drama Technique
Improvisation
Monologues

Theatre Cont...
Stage props

Theater Criticism
Theater History
Theater Stage setting and scenery

Music

Music--20th century
Music--Instruction and study
Music theory--Dictionaries
Music--Composition
Musical Analysis
Orchestral Music
Piano Music
Songs, English

Music therapy for the aged
Music therapy for children
Musical therapy
Music--Physiological aspects
Music--Psychology

Recordings & Video

To locate a recording or video, use the Power Seach option in the library catalog.  Choose a format in the search box Item Category 1.  If you know the music artist's name or director of a film include that in the Author search box.  If you know the title of the work use the Title search box.  If you are not sure the full title of a work but you know one of the actors, use the Word or Phrase box.  If you would like to see all the material in one format type, just change the Item Category 1 to the desired format and click search.

If you are looking for DVDs use the format Digital Videodisc
If you are looking for CDs use Compact Disc
If you are looking for Records use Sound Recordings
If you are looking for Videos use Videorecording

Selected Reference Works for Dance

Dancer's Resource: the Watson-Guptill guide to academic programs, internships and apprentice programs, residential and artist-in-residence programs, studio schools and private teachers, workshops and festivals.
R792.8J77

International Dictionary of Modern Dance

R792.8 I79B

International Encyclopedia of Dance : a Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.
R792.8I79 V. 1,2,3,4,5,6

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
R792.8C82

Music Scores

Aspen Winter Jazz Poster
Roy Lichtenstein, 1967

All Music Scores are located on the third floor next to the Juvenile Collection.

To locate a music score, use the Power Seach option in the library catalog.  Change the Item Category 1 to music scores.  Use the Composer's name in the Author search box.  You can also add the instrument for which the piece was arranged in the words or phrase box.  If you would like to see all the music scores that we have in the library, just change the Item Category 1 to music scores and click search.

Selected Reference Works for Music

Career opportunities in the music
780.23 F53


Dictionary of American classical composers
920 B99


Historical dictionary of choral music
782.5 U74


Music business: the key concepts
780.23 S98M


The new handbook of research on music teaching and learning
780 H27C


Orchestral music: a handbook
016.7842 D27


The Oxford companion to music
780.3 O93   

                                                             

Sourcebook for research in music
016.78 C82

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip