This is the "Workshops On Demand" page of the "Research Workshops " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Workshops  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2016 URL: http://libguides.marywood.edu/researchworkshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Workshops On Demand Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Workshops

 

Credo Reference Database

Credo Reference is an online full-text library of reference works including 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos. The collection covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. Participants will practice searching in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as images,audio files and videos. 

 

Health-Related Sessions

 

Health Information 101

Health information is about anywhere you look. But not all health information on the web is credible, timely, or safe. This workshop is designed to help you find reliable health information for consumers and patients, as well as to offer tips on filtering health-related web resources.

 

Drug Information Resources

This session will help participants familiarize themselves with the usefulness of various sources and types of drug information, as well as develop skills to find drug information.

 

CINAHL for Experts

Learn how to locate nursing and allied health literature using CINAHL, the core resource for the fields. This workshop will also cover how to use MeSH (medical subject headings),access full-text articles, manage search results, and create alerts  This database compliments the Health Source database; it is useful for both beginning research and advanced research in health fields.

 

Introduction to Nutrition Research Resources

Join us for a workshop to increase your awareness and effective use of nutrition information resources to make your research easier and more efficient. We’ll discuss the steps of accessing peer reviewed nutrition and dietetics resources using Marywood's library databases and Open Access sources.

 

Learning How to Navigate Medical Research

Navigating the vast National Library of Medicine is important for health care providers.  What is the latest research on a prescribed drug or a medical disease? For your patients, learn how you use PubMed to give them background information to safeguard their health or learn more about their medical condition.

 

PubMed (Medline)

This workshop will cover the basics of using PubMed to find journal articles. We'll discuss how to select and combine search terms to develop an effective search strategy. We'll demonstrate tools found in PubMed that can make your searching more efficient. We'll also show you how to access the full text of articles you find. 

 

Getting Good with Google for health care providers and everybody else

Sure, we all google.  Do you want to get good at Google?  Learn some techniques, tips, and tricks of the trade to enhance your search skills.  Google Scholar will be part of this presentation.

 

Business and Management Sessions

 

Company Research with Lexis-Nexis

This is one of the "Business Information Research Workshop Series" we offer this semester. LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis is an excellent source for company, industry and product information.

 

Company Research with Mergent Intellect

This is the first workshop of the "Business Information Research Workshop Series" we offer this semester. Mergent Intellect offers a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, ... and the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

 

Mergent Online--A Digital Treasure For the Business World

Mergent Online is a database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Use Mergent Online when you need comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more.
 

 

Mergent Online for Investment

Interested in investing in or obtaining financial information about US or inter,national companies, please join us for a 40- minute session on Mergent Online, which is one of the most complete historical financial databases offering detailed insight into company and industry research, both historical and current.

 

Sessions to Learn Basic Skills

 

An Introduction to Kanopy: Online Streaming Film Database

Learn about the content available through the streaming film/video resource Kanopy. The Library subscription to Kanopy includes thousands of documentaries, feature and training films on every topic, such as Media Studies, Foreign Language, Education, Psychology, Politics, Environmental, Literature, etc.

 

EBSCO ebook Basics

This workshop will demonstrate how to search, view, checkout and download books from our ebook database. The EBSCO ebook Collection provides access to  thousands of scholarly, professional and reference full text books in a wide variety of subject areas.

 

Dig into Discovery!

Have you tried Discovery, the library's newest search tool? It's a great place to start a project and to search across all types of resources, but with so many functions and options it can be overwhelming. This workshop is for anyone who wants learn how use Discovery successfully.

  • Start. Discovery lets you search multiple formats at once.
  • Refine. We'll demystify features and limiters that help you zero-in on your topic.
  • Request/Locate. You've found something great, now what? We'll look at determining full-text availability and interlibrary loan.

We'll also address what is (and isn't) included in Discovery, what's different about it from our other databases, as well as off-campus access and other questions you may have.

 

Sessions on Different Topics

 

U.S. Government Sources--ideas that you can use today

Let's explore the services of the government through its web portal, usa.gov.  Here we'll find information on agencies, data and statistics, financial aid, and much more.  Lots to discover in this site that brings information right to your fingertips.

 

Introduction to Statistical Sources

This session will provide an introduction of different statistical resources, including effective techniques for uncovering the vast amount of statistical information available. 

 

Introduction to Science Resources

This workshop is intended to make participants aware of the variety of scholarly materials available to them as they pursue research in the science disciplines such as Chemistry, Physics, Biology and Biochemistry. Emphasis will be placed on science databases such as Web of Science, ScienceDirect and Wiley Online Library.

 

Survival and Thrival Tips for International Students

Critical to academic success is your ability to do library research to produce papers for classes or complete your thesis or dissertation. This workshop is meant to provide some research tips and resources for international students (or other students). The session will be informal, so feel free to come with specific questions or concerns you might have from your own research experiences. We will also be able to try some example searches.

 

Visual Presentations with Artstor

The Artstor Digital Library provides access to over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences for teaching and research. The collection serves the interdisciplinary teaching and research needs of educators and students. In this workshop, we will go over the basics of searching, sorting, viewing, organizing, and saving. It is open to students and faculty from all disciplines interested in adding images to their presentations.

 

Finding Government Data on the Environment

This workshop will focus on finding governmental data relevant to research on sustainability, and will examine tools provided by agencies such as the EPA, Department of Energy, and some selected international sources. In addition, the session will suggest strategies for answering a data question, especially when it's unclear where to begin or when other sources have been exhausted.

 

Job Hunting with the Databases

Want to impress during your job interview?  Learn how to garner company information, the recent news on the company, and the trends in the field.
Databases covered include Mergent's, Lexis Nexis and Discovery.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip