This is the "Springboard" page of the "Art & Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art & Art History  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.marywood.edu/visualarts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Springboard Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Books in The Learning Commons

Edwin Dickinson: Dreams and Realities
by Douglas Dreishpoon et al.

Pontormo: Drawings
by Jacopo Carucci Pontormo, edited by Salvatore S. Nigro

Bruegel: The Complete Paintings, Drawings and Prints
by Manfred Sellink

Amy Sillman: One Lump or Two
Edited by Helen Molesworth

The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color
by Johannes Itten and Faber Birren

 

New Books in the Marketplace

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Student Reviews

 

Did you read a book, checkout an exhibition, or watch a video you would like to share with other Foundation students? Click the submit button below and fill out the form. Your review will be added to this research guide.

 

Featured Video

A BAFTA award-winning BBC series with John Berger, which rapidly became regarded as one of the most influential art programmes ever made. In the first programme, Berger examines the impact of photography on our appreciation of art from the past. This is the first of a four part series.

Video Collections

Gorky's Granddaughter
Gorky's Granddaughter is a documentary art project. We visit studios and talk to artists.

Tate Museum, London Video Collection
Archive of video features and studio visits with artists

James Kalm Report
James Kalm is a working artist living in Brooklyn New York. He has been an active critic for over twelve years writing for the controversial Brooklyn Rail http://brooklynrail.org/.

James Kalm Rough Cut
Rough Cut is the freshest and most urgent art coverage on the internet, and will be devoted to providing near daily almost instantaneous reports, but without the benefit of extensive editing. It's hoped you will enjoy these "rougher cuts" of the New York art world.

New Art TV
Newarttv.com is produced by NewArtTV, Inc. a media and production company based in New York City with a focus on producing premium video content on contemporary art.

The Shock of the New
The Shock of the New is a 1980 documentary television series written and presented by Robert Hughes produced by the BBC in association with Time-Life Films and produced by Lorna Pegram

The Power of Art
Power of Art is a BBC documentary series written and presented by Simon Schama.

Louisiana Channel
ouisiana Channel is a non-profit website based at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk, Denmark. t has always been Louisiana’s role to stimulate discussion of our society through the insights of art and the artists and the same goes for Louisiana Channel.

News, Reviews, Events, Politics, Opinions

Artcritical
Artcritical began its life in 2001 as a personal website for founder editor and publisher David Cohen. It is an excellent resource for current and upcoming shows as well as reviews.

Art21
Art in The 21st Century provides unparalleled access to the most innovative artists of our time, revealing how artists engage the culture around them and how art allows viewers to see the world in new ways. A television series produced by PBS, videos and additional content can be viewed online.

ARTnews
Founded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world. Its readership of 180,000 in 124 countries includes collectors, dealers, historians, artists, museum directors, curators, connoisseurs, and enthusiasts.

Blouin Artinfo
Blouin artinfo is the preeminent global source for up-to-the-minute news, information, and expert commentary on art, artists, and the business and pleasure of making, buying, and understanding art.

Hyperallergic
Hyperallergic is a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture in the world today.

Painters' Table
Painters' Table is a daily online magazine for artists, curators, collectors, and art goers specifically interested in painting. Featuring original reviews, artist interviews, and commentary, Painters' Table also highlights online writing about painting from around the web as it is published.

The Brooklyn Rail
The Brooklyn Rail provides an independent forum for arts, culture, and politics throughout New York City and far beyond.

Two Coats of Paint
Two Coats of Paint is an NYC-based art project, that includes an award-winning art blogazine, artists residency, and other special initiatives.

White Columns
An archive of the ongoing program of exhibitions, projects, talks, screenings, and events at White Columns. New York's oldest alternative art space.

Perceptual Painters
Perceptual Painters is a group of painters who share a common core of sensibilities. The group was formed by Brian Rego with David Campbell in 2008. These two Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts educated painters created the initial nucleus of the group among fellow MFA graduates at PAFA.

Structure and Imagery
Blog of recent NYC exhibitions

Monument Lab
Monument Lab has evolved from past Mural Arts Philadelphia projects, in elevation of the organization’s mission to change conversations, policies, opportunities, and communities through beautiful public art.

Title
Title seeks to create a generative environment for engagement with the arts and culture, and to provide a platform for interesting, insightful, ambitious, and experimental forms of writing.

Artjaw.com
Artjaw.com is a collection of first person stories from the artworld. These are experiences that tell who we are, how we got here and what goes on while we do what we do.

Artblog
Artblog is an independent online publication that fosters dialog and community through commentary and discussion about art and culture.

The St. Claire
The St. Claire is a project-based arts organization and online journal stationed in Philadelphia.

Studio Critical
This blog is about process, practice and getting to know a little bit more about what painters get up to in the studio.

Joanne Mattera Art Blog
Archive about contemporary art – best feature- “Marketing Mondays,” about how to market your work.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip